Reading Time: 3 Minutes

Quiana Lynell Wants to Share 'A Little Love': Exclusive Premiere

By Billboard

Aretha Franklin is being honored with a posthumous Pulitzer Prize Special Citation, the organization announced Monday (April 15). Along with Franklin, composer Ellen Reid was named as this year’s recipient of the Pulitzer Prize in music for her debut opera, prism.

“Congratulations to @Aretha Franklin and her family and friends,” the Pulitzer Prize account tweeted to make the announcement, using the hashtags #QueenofSoul and #Respect.

The Pulitzer Prize jury occasionally awards Special Citations when deemed necessary, with such previous recognition being given to the likes of Hank Williams, Thelonious Monk, John Coltrane and Bob Dylan. Franklin makes history as the first individual woman to earn a special citation prize since the honor was first awarded in 1930.

The award is one of a long list of accolades afforded to Franklin during her iconic career, including the Kennedy Center Honors, the Presidential Medal of Freedom and being the first woman inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1987.

Check out the official announcement below.

Congratulations to @ArethaFranklin and her family and friends.

— The Pulitzer Prizes (@PulitzerPrizes) April 15, 2019


Billboard is the world's most influential music media brand reaching key executives and tastemakers in and around the music business through Billboard Magazine,, Billboard Conferences, Billboard Bulletin, and other targeted newsletters,...


Join MusicStartsHere today

Please register or login to leave a comment.

arrow_upwardBack To Top